Max Gardner Award for Distinguished Service is a prestigious award presented by PCFA. It is awarded to an individual member of the Network that has made an outstanding and significant contribution to reducing the impact of prostate cancer on Australian men, their partners and families, recognising the diversity of the Australian community. This award is a peer-based form of recognition for PCFA Network members who are currently in a Support Group Leader role or an active member of a PCFA affiliated support group or an official Ambassador.


Max Gardner Award Recipients for 2021

Mr John Fullagar of North Shore (NSW), Mr Rob McCulloch of Bundaberg (QLD), and Mr and Mrs Graham and Adele Staggs of Dural (NSW), have each been presented with the 2021 Max Gardner Award in recognition of their outstanding contribution to PCFA’s mission. 

About the recipients: 

Rob McCulloch joined the Bundaberg PCSG following his diagnosis and surgery in 2007 and has been leader of the Bundaberg PCSG since 2009. He became a PCFA Ambassador in 2013, while also serving on the then Queensland Chapter Council. He has been integral in the establishment of other Support Groups in the region and has dedicated countless hours to community awareness and peer support over the past 15 years. 

John Fullagar has been involved in the North Shore PCSG for nearly 20 years, joining the group in 2004 after undergoing a radical prostatectomy. John became Secretary of the Group in 2012 and was elected to his current role of Support Group Leader in 2015. John was also a founding member and is the former Deputy Chair of PCFA's NSW/ACT Chapter Council. In addition, he’s a PCFA Ambassador, attending regular events to help raise awareness about prostate cancer locally. 

Graham and Adele Staggs lead the Dural Prostate Cancer Support Group. Graham originally joined the Sydney Adventist Hospital Prostate Cancer Support Group in 2004, following a radical prostatectomy, and went on to jointly found the Dural and District PCSG in March 2012. Over the past 18 years, they have provided information and peer support to hundreds of men and their partners, and Adele has also established a Support Group for Ladies, which meets monthly. 

Read the full media release here.


You can learn more about previous Max Gardner Award Winners below.


Previous Max Gardner Award Recipients

Linton Blackwell 2020
Margaret Amm 2020
Richard Harry 2020
Kerry White 2019
Wolfgang Schoch 2019
Elizabeth Allen 2019
David Merry 2018
Mary Jones 2018
Tony Maxwell 2018
David Abrahams 2017
Malcolm Ellis 2017
Terry Grano 2017
Ian Fisk 2016
Jim Marshall 2016
Gabrielle Moran OAM 2016
Ian Wagner 2015
John Shields 2015
Jim Hope 2015
Fred Travis 2015
Rob Tonge 2015
Allan Sudholz 2015
Alan Moran OAM 2015
Bruce Kinnersley 2014
Dr Bruce Kynaston 2014
Len Lamprecht 2014
Dr John Trollor 2014
Phillip Webster 2014
Terry Wheeler 2013
Les Payne 2013
David Gregory 2013
Daryl Hyland 2012
Max Shub 2012
John Stead 2012
Colin Farmer 2011
Michael O'Neill 2011
Les Mather 2011
Jim Reid 2011
John Allen 2010
Robert Slade 2010
Jayne Matthews 2010
Peter Dornan AM 2010
Bill McHugh 2010
Robert Phillips 2010
Ron Schmarr 2010
Alan Hall 2009
Jeff Roberts 2009
John Dowsett 2009
Con Casey 2008
Bob Collard MBE 2008
Dr John Conroy OAM 2008
John Goodall 2008
Don Baumber 2008
Spencer Broughton 2008
Trevor Hunt 2008