The Max Gardner Award is awarded to an individual member of the Network who has made an outstanding and significant contribution to reducing the impact of prostate cancer on Australian men, their partners, and families.

It is PCFA’s most prestige award and is named in honour of Max Gardner, who worked tirelessly to raise the level of community awareness about prostate cancer, to promote research into this disease and to support men and women dealing with prostate cancer. Max left an incredible legacy and PCFA is honoured to continue it with this award.

Nominations are now open for the 2022 Max Gardner Awards.

To nominate someone, you will need to complete the nomination form, providing detailed information about the contributions that have been made by the nominee and a minimum of two referees.

Click here to download the nomination form.

Click here to download the Max Gardner Award FAQs.

All nominations must be emailed to or posted to the address below by COB Monday 16 January 2023.

Mailing address:

Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia
Level 5/437 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria, 3004

If you have any questions, please reach out to PCFA on 1800 22 00 99 or

Awardees will be announced in May 2023 during National Volunteer Week.



You can learn more about previous Max Gardner Award Winners below.

Previous Max Gardner Award Recipients

Rob McCulloch 2021
John Fullagar 2021
Graham and Adele Staggs 2021
Linton Blackwell 2020
Margaret Amm 2020
Richard Harry 2020
Kerry White 2019
Wolfgang Schoch 2019
Elizabeth Allen 2019
David Merry 2018
Mary Jones 2018
Tony Maxwell 2018
David Abrahams 2017
Malcolm Ellis 2017
Terry Grano 2017
Ian Fisk 2016
Jim Marshall 2016
Gabrielle Moran OAM 2016
Ian Wagner 2015
John Shields 2015
Jim Hope 2015
Fred Travis 2015
Rob Tonge 2015
Allan Sudholz 2015
Alan Moran OAM 2015
Bruce Kinnersley 2014
Dr Bruce Kynaston 2014
Len Lamprecht 2014
Dr John Trollor 2014
Phillip Webster 2014
Terry Wheeler 2013
Les Payne 2013
David Gregory 2013
Daryl Hyland 2012
Max Shub 2012
John Stead 2012
Colin Farmer 2011
Michael O'Neill 2011
Les Mather 2011
Jim Reid 2011
John Allen 2010
Robert Slade 2010
Jayne Matthews 2010
Peter Dornan AM 2010
Bill McHugh 2010
Robert Phillips 2010
Ron Schmarr 2010
Alan Hall 2009
Jeff Roberts 2009
John Dowsett 2009
Con Casey 2008
Bob Collard MBE 2008
Dr John Conroy OAM 2008
John Goodall 2008
Don Baumber 2008
Spencer Broughton 2008
Trevor Hunt 2008